Week in food: 9/20/2015

Sunday: Chicken burrito bowls

  • Mike is obsessed with these. I don’t feel quite so strongly but they are very good. Dirties a lot of pans and dishes, though. I baked my chicken instead of grilling.

Monday: Cooked some spaghetti squash and topped with pesto. Not very exciting.

Tuesday: Coconut lime fish tacos with improvised salsa (mango, cilantro, red cabbage, lime juice)

  • Didn’t hate this but didn’t love it either. Think I will stick to breading my fish with some panko and Old Bay next time I make fish tacos.

Wednesday: Curried lentils over jasmine rice with green gazpacho.

  • The lentils were not very good. Sometimes Budget Bytes can be a miss, and this was one of them. Just not flavorful. I ate leftovers once with a fried egg and extra s&p but even that couldn’t save them. Tossed the rest. Will not make again.
  • On the other hand, the gazpacho is f-ing awesome. It has a nice kick and is unlike anything I’ve ever made. I don’t like tomatoes so this is a perfect cold soup for me.

Thursday: Leftovers

Friday: Out

Saturday: Wine and popcorn

Other non-dinner things I made…

  • Pumpkin muffins. Tastes like fall. Trying not to overdo the pumpkin so I’ll wait a month or so before making them again. I alter this recipe a bit. They’re not overly sweet because I reduced the sugar. I also scaled up to use the entire can of pumpkin, since I hate having small amounts of leftover ingredients in my fridge. Here’s my modification:

15oz can of pumpkin 
1.5c flour 
1.5 tsp baking powder 
¾ tsp baking soda 
¾ tsp salt 
1.5 tsp pumpkin pie spice 
½ cup vegetable oil 
3 eggs 
1c sugar 
1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp sugar, mixed, for topping  

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

