Week in food: 11/1/15

I am in complete denial that it is November. We are so close to the brink of the worst half of the year and I just want summer and fall to stay forever 😦

Sunday: Crockpot beef stew.

  • YAS. You should make this sooner rather than later, but it would also make the perfect winter dinner after a day shoveling snow. It was nice out Sunday, but I’m always cold and this totally warmed me up and helped me, ahem, recover from Halloween. I had to drag myself out of bed in the morning to chop and get it going, but I’m so glad I did.

Monday: Leftovers

Tuesday: Leftovers

Wednesday: Crockpot BBQ beer chicken on rolls with cole slaw and baked beans.

  • Have you noticed a pattern? Been trying to use my Crockpot even more lately. This is an easy, delicious repeat from before the blog. I tend to only have 12 oz bottles of beer, so I just pour the whole thing in so that I’m not wasting any/drinking beer at 7 am. I tend to just drain the dish and then add more bbq sauce by hand as I eat.

    Cole slaw was improvised again. Cabbage and carrots with a little bit of mayo, white wine vinegar, sugar, salt and pepper. I was worried not having celery seed would affect the taste so I added a little turmeric and garlic powder and while less traditional I still thought it turned out great.

Thursday: Blackened tilapia with roasted broccoli and polenta.

  • The polenta didn’t happen because of a traffic meltdown, but I was still able to get the fish and broccoli on the table in about 20 mins which was great. Basically every time I’ve made fish it’s either been for a fish taco or breaded. I wanted to have another option. This seasoning was really great with a little bit of a kick. Roasting broccoli is also basically the only way I want to eat broccoli, because it tastes so much better crispy. This will be a repeat meal.

Friday: Out

Saturday: Out

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

