Week in food: 11/8/15

I was craving some veggie-heavy meals this week and am really happy with the result. Overall this was a great week for food. All of these meals were fulfilling without being too unhealthy.

Sunday: Lentil soup with sweet potato cornbread.

  • Lentil soup was pretty decent. I feel like it was a bit too muddy tasting though the lemon juice definitely helped. I still included the tomatoes but definitely picked around them when eating the soup. This recipe made way more than 4 servings; it was closer to 6-8.
  • Cornbread was good. I microwaved then peeled the sweet potato rather than boiling, and I also made the bread in muffins instead of the skillet. It took about 14-15 minutes to bake and made 18 muffins. I froze most of them and can easily defrost them with 30 seconds in the microwave.

Monday: Leftovers.

Tuesday: Leftovers.

Wednesday: Asian turkey meatballs with lime dipping sauce, with spiralized zucchini.

  • Loved these. I used 1 pound of meat but didn’t decrease the seasoning accordingly; I still used close to the full amounts in the recipe. You could really taste the ginger which I liked. I used shallots instead of scallions and dried cilantro. It took away some of the pretty color but was still really delicious. Also my first time using my cheap hand-held spiralizer. I’m a fan. I spiralized three medium zucchinis, drizzled with EVOO and salt and pepper, and heated through in a skillet for 4-5 minutes.

Thursday: Leftovers.

Friday: Cauliflower rice fish taco bowls.

  • I actually ended up making this for Saturday lunch instead, but am leaving it here as it was a planned dinner for the week. This was great. My first time making cauliflower rice and not my last. I didn’t realize how easy it was to make. Mike asked if it was couscous and commented that he couldn’t believe it was cauliflower. Great way to sneak in some veggies. 
  • As usual, I made my own tweaks to this recipe. Mahi mahi was really expensive at Trader Joe’s so I improvised and purchased TJ’s mahi mahi burgers. I still seasoned them with the spices in the recipe, but did it by eye and with a light hand. I sprinkled a bit on each side and then rubbed them in. I also omitted cabbage since mine wasn’t looking great and used dried cilantro. I realize while typing this that this week would’ve have been a good to time to buy fresh cilantro given that two recipes required it. Oh well.

Saturday: Out

Other non-dinner things I made…

  • Greek farro salad. A couple years ago I ate a salad for lunch every day at work. I overdid it and turned myself off of that, and so this is my first foray back into regular lunch salads because eating a large volume of food at lunch is more satisfying and you can’t exactly do that with unhealthier foods. This was delicious. I had farro at sweetgreen recently and I’m really into it now. Much better than quinoa. No olives, dried parsley, and a mix of arugula and kale.
  • Cranberry apple baked oatmeal. This is a repeat from before the blog. Love the tart cranberries in this. Amazing reheated with vanilla almond milk poured on top.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

