Week in food: 11/15/15 & 11/22/2015

Combining weeks here! It’s been wild with the holiday season and everything else going on, so there has not been a lot of cooking recently. Also experimenting with a new format since it’s not super important to know what I ate on what day. I feel like I may have made more than this but I can’t remember what else for the life of me.

Dinner #1: Slow cooker Italian chicken and vegetable ragu, served over pasta.

  • This sounded and smelled better than it ended up tasting. It wasn’t bad; it just wasn’t something I really reached for again after eating it the first time. The sauce was thinner than I thought it would be, probably because I added extra zucchini. If I were to make it again an immersion blender would help a lot with that (already requested one for Christmas!) I also cooked it on high because I ran out of time and I would not recommend that. Chicken wasn’t tender enough. Ended up throwing away some extras.

Dinner #2: Ground turkey chili, with leftover sweet potato cornbread.

  • I have trouble finding a recipe I like for chili that’s linkable. I find that most of them don’t have the right meat/bean ratio and/or include tomatoes, both of which are hard passes for me. I used 1 pound ground turkey, 1 can pinto beans, 1 can black beans, a few tbsp tomato paste, and the seasoning from this recipe. Add some water if it looks like it needs it.

Other non-dinner things I made…

  • Microwave hot chocolate for one. In eighth grade I had Swiss Miss with mini marshmallows almost everyday for breakfast, and nothing else. I’m not sure how I did that given how hangry I get as an adult without breakfast. I’ve only had hot chocolate a handful of times since then, and I’d never made it myself from “scratch”– a word used loosely here given how small the ingredient list is. I’m ashamed. Neither tea nor coffee felt right one afternoon and I was FREEZING, so after some quick Googling I found this recipe. I used only 1 Tbsp sugar, which was still a bit too much, a bit more vanilla extract (did not measure), and a dash of cinnamon. I was surprised at how rich this was given that I only used skim milk, not that I’m complaining. Yum.
  • Pumpkin pie! Back of the can instructions. I don’t mess with tradition.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

