Week in food: 11/29/15

Dinner #1: Return of the falafel (see this post for original review and recipe).

  • Still just as good.

Dinner #2: Italian chicken and peppers over pasta.

  • This so does not sound like something I would normally go for, given my tomato hatred and my less well-known dislike of cooked peppers. But for whatever reason this sounded alright and I knew Mike would like it. It was fantastic. I ate over pasta one day but just ate it straight the rest of the time. Parm required. Surprisingly, Mike wasn’t nearly as into this as I was.

Other: 

  • Slow-cooker cinnamon brown sugar oatmeal. This recipe was from a book on vegan slow cooking. I’m not intending to become a vegan but I thought it would be a good way to get some vegetarian meal ideas. I’m not bothering to link the recipe here since it was only OK, but happy to send it if requested (it is pretty simple– essentially just oats, almond milk, water, vanilla extract, brown sugar, and cinnamon). The taste was great but the texture was weird. The top got hard and I was excited thinking it would be kind of crispy. Nope, just weirdly chewy. Sticking to the microwave or stovetop next time.
  • Apple oatmeal breakfast cookies. Meh.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

