Week in food: 1/10/16

Two things before I start: One, for the three people reading this, does anyone have a favorite way to organize their recipes? I like Pinterest for digital collection, and I tend to use my iPad in the kitchen when I’m trying a recipe for the first time. Now I’d like to start having paper copies of recipes I’ll keep going back to so I don’t have to search for them all the time. Can’t decide if I want to have a binder, notebook, or something else.

Two: I mentioned in my last post that my goal is to try 52 new-to-me recipes this year! This post has my first.

New recipe challenge (1/52):

Lebanese beef kafka patties, served with wild rice.

  • I made these with lamb. Note to self: if you think that your food processor can’t handle quarter chunks of onion with everything else in the food processor, listen to your gut. Next time I’ll chop it up in the food processor before adding the meat and spices. I cooked them on the stovetop in a non-stick pan. These are super flavorful, but something is off. Too salty maybe? I ate leftovers once and something made my stomach turn thinking about eating it any more. If I were to try again, I’d use ground beef, no salt, and make a tzatziki sauce.

Repeats:

Vegetable cheddar quiche.

  • I’ve made this a million times and it never fails. No mushrooms. This time around I didn’t have the frozen veggies but I did have fresh so I used those instead and it was even better (though more time consuming. I’m a slow chopper.)

Polenta bowls with chicken sausage, garlicky kale, and soft-boiled eggs (repeat from this post.)

  • I really love this recipe. It seems so much more fancy than it actually is. I This time around I used kale instead of spinach because it was all I had (spinach works better here) and soft-boiled the eggs instead of poaching them using this guide. The eggs came out perfectly but they were really difficult to peel. I feel like this always happens to me when I hard boil them though, no matter what “trick” I use. I also didn’t season the polenta as well this time and I noticed the difference. I might need to work this one into a more regular rotation.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

