Week in food: 1/17/16

Welcome to my new home on WordPress! A few people mentioned they didn’t know how to comment on or follow my blog when it was on Tumblr. I hope that using WordPress solves the issues. I have to fix some links in my “tested recipe” page, but otherwise everything should have moved over.

You should be able to see a “follow by email” button in the right column of the page. You have to put in your email address when you leave a comment for spam protection purposes. Let me know if you have any problems with either of these. Thanks for your interest 🙂 Onto the food!

New recipe challenge (2/52):
White bean soup with bacon and spiced brown butter.

I could not get this out of my brain. It just sounded so good. I also wanted a recipe that would let me use the immersion blender I got for Christmas. No cardamom, because LOL at spending $15 on a bottle at Giant. It looks like it’s decently priced on Amazon, though, so I might need to pick some up for future recipes.

I did some advance planning on the ingredients which made cooking the soup a breeze. I cooked the bacon in the oven while teleworking using the method described in the recipe below for chicken bacon rice bowls. I’ve always felt a little scared of cooking bacon because I feel like I’m one second away from third-degree burning myself with grease. Doing it in the oven instead of stovetop worked well. I also caramelized the onions in my Crockpot as I described here. Instead of cooking the onions as noted in the soup recipe, I added a little bit of olive oil and heated them through with the garlic and spices for a minute before moving on to the next step.

I really enjoyed this, but I don’t think the browned butter added anything taste-wise (though, again, I didn’t use cardamom. I used an improvised mixture of nutmeg and allspice instead). We also ate it later in the week without bacon and it was still really delicious. Finally, my immersion blender is awesome and I can’t wait to use it a million times this winter.

New recipe challenge (3/52):
Chicken bacon rice bowls.

Tis the week of bacon. As the author notes, this is such an “uh, this sounds incredibly simple…” recipe. I chose it to remind myself that getting out of my comfort zone and cooking something different doesn’t need to mean a recipe that is elaborate or involves fancy ingredients. Also, I’ve never cooked chicken in a skillet before (should I be ashamed of this?) Raw chicken freaks me out so I usually just throw it in the Crockpot or a pan with minimal hand contact. I conquered my fear and the chicken cooked well.

Unfortunately, I thought the recipe was just OK. It needed more seasoning than just salt and pepper, or some kind of sauce. I made extra chicken and spinach and later that week we tossed that with pasta and marinara. I actually thought that was way better than the original recipe. Ah well.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

