Week in food: 1/31/16

This week was a good one! Trying to keep the momentum going into next week before my schedule gets thrown off by some work travel.

New recipe (6/52): Spaghetti squash, black beans, and queso fresco tacos

This recipe is from the Smitten Kitchen cookbook, which I discovered at the library last week. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that the recipe is all over the Internet under various other names and authors, but that kinda sucks for the original. And I guess I’m not helping by linking to one of those…*shrugs*

These couldn’t be easier to make (the microwave is your friend) and taste delicious. Mike and I scarfed down a ridiculous amount. Next time I would go out of my way to get fresh cilantro, which I normally wouldn’t do, but it was fine with dried. Splurging on fancy cheese was also worth it.

New recipe (7/52): Chicken stir fry with broccoli, peppers, onion, and Mojo Stir-Fry Sauce over brown rice

“Eating Well” magazine had an article about different stir-fry combinations, and it made me realize it had never even occurred to me to make my own. I have a love-hate relationship with stir-fry. Long story short, this was my attempt to recapture the magic of make-your-own University of Maryland dining hall stir-fry that gave me life on Mondays and Wednesdays my sophomore year of college.

The frying of the chicken/veggies and making of the rice is pretty self-explanatory. Here is the recipe for the sauce:

Mojo stir-fry sauce
1/4 cup lime juice
1/4 cup orange juice
1/4 cup fresh cilantro (I used a little less than 1 tbsp dried)
1 tbsp EVOO
2 tsp cornstarch
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp oregano

This was pretty good and goes really quickly once everything is chopped. Mike and I both like a lot of sauce so we would probably double the sauce recipe if we were to make it again. I’d probably be more inclined to try a different combo, though.

New recipe (8/52): Italian breaded pork chops with rice/veggie blend

I’m not very experienced in the world of pork chops. I was mildly concerned I would give us food poisoning by not cooking it through (no thermometer here), but we’re still alive. Breadcrumbs make everything taste delicious, so this was a win.

The ingredient list is a bit off from the recipe I used in the magazine. I had plenty of leftover egg and breadcrumbs when using less than is called for here. I suggest scaling down to 2 eggs, 2 tbsp milk, 1 cup breadcrumbs, and 1/3 cup parmesan. You could do even less of the breadcrumb mixture and be fine.

I subbed 1 tsp basil for the parsley and added 1 tsp garlic powder instead of using cloves of garlic. I don’t have a cast iron skillet (yet- it’s on my wishlist), so after browning them on both sides I put them on a foil-lined cookie sheet for about 10-15 minutes.

Have a happy Super Bowl Sunday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

