Week in food: 3/6/16

I haven’t abandoned this blog! Life has just gotten in the way. I traveled for work for about 1.5 weeks, and in between/immediately after I stuck to a few favorite repeats. I’m back at it.

New recipe (10/52): Chana masala

I finally found some decently priced spices at Whole Foods, of all places! I got the cardamom I frequently bypassed at Giant and also picked up some garam masala for various Indian dishes. I felt pretty lame for being super excited about this.

For this recipe, I replaced the serrano with a jalapeno but kept everything else the same. I did scoop a bit at the end, blend with my immersion blender, and mix back in, and this definitely helped thicken things up.

This was pretty good, and given the ease of preparation and inexpensive ingredients (as long as you already have the spices- hint, check the Mexican aisle for cumin seeds) I will probably make it again. It was definitely on the spicier side for me, even with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt to cool it down. The spices seemed to come together more overnight and it was easier for me to eat the second day.

New recipe (11/52): Crockpot white bean chicken chili

It seems like every time I put something in the Crockpot on a day I’m in the office I get stuck in a worse-than-usual traffic meltdown that throws off my plans. This dish was no exception. Even more frustrating, I left work on time for once and got home 30 minutes later than I do when I stay much later. Sigh.

Anyway, by the time I did get home I was starving (and in need of a drink), so I didn’t add the flour and milk at the end. It was still fine. When I was making my grocery list for the week I intended to double the beans but I totally forgot. One can was fine but I would still probably do two next time.

The verdict on this one: pretty solid, but not something I would immediately reach to make again.

New recipe (12/52): Pineapple mango coconut smoothie

I really like the Bai drinks and buy them way too often at work. On one of the unseasonably warm mornings this week (this weather has given me life!!!) I decided I wanted to make a smoothie, and after Googling around I found this site and adapted the “blogger’s favorite” smoothie (scroll down on the site).

I used kale instead of spinach (and used closer to 1/2 cup than 1 cup) and 1/2 cup of pineapple and 1/2 cup of mango instead of 1 cup of pineapple. This is probably the best smoothie I’ve ever made at home. Delicious.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

