Week in food: Last month or so??

Well, I disappeared off the face of the earth. I blame it on Sundays. I need chill Sundays to reorient myself and prepare for the week ahead. For the last 6 weeks or so, I’ve had something to do EVERY Sunday. While they were all super fun things that I was happy to attend, the end result is me feeling out of sync and barely cooking or buying any groceries for a month. Whoops.

I didn’t keep very good track of the few new things that I did make, but here’s what I can remember and corresponding reviews:

New recipe (15/52): The Best Burritos (make ahead and freeze)

These were awesome and super cheap. I used brown rice since neither Mike nor I are huge fans of quinoa. I included salsa and ~1 Tbsp of shredded cheese and used flour tortillas instead of whole-grain. I only had about 1.5 cups of pinto beans, and though they would have been better with the full amount they were still good. I also would have put more toppings in if my fridge weren’t empty, but they didn’t really need them. It has been so nice to have a bunch in the freezer to grab whenever, but we’ve actually eaten them so quickly that I probably didn’t even need to freeze them. They re-heat well. Will definitely make again.

New recipe (16/52): Baked pesto parmesan chicken

Not a ton to say about this one– very easy and very good.

New recipe (17/52): Creamy farro with white beans and kale

Farro is my new favorite grain. It’s like oatmeal (which may make these dish sound weird) but in a good way. Pro tip: get the 10-minute farro from Trader Joe’s and this comes together very quickly.

New recipe (18/52): Kale chips

I love when you come across a simple idea, have all the ingredients on hand, and can make it immediately. I usually freeze leftover kale for smoothies, but this was fun to try. Will make again.

New recipe (19/52): Glowing spiced lentil soup

I’ve made a handful of lentil recipes over the past 6 months or so, and none of them have wowed me. The use of coconut milk and unusual combo of spices in this one intrigued me. I decided that if I made this one and still felt “meh” that I would quit lentils. Well, the lentil gods smiled upon me after that proclamation- THIS IS SO GOOD!! It’s also super easy and inexpensive. All you have to chop is an onion and two cloves of garlic. I will probably be making this all summer despite it not being seasonally appropriate to eat that much soup.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

