Oh hey 2017

How many comebacks can one girl have? I’ve lost count 🙂

Some of my Facebook friends have been posting about meals they’ve been making and it’s made me miss this place and the accountability it provides to be more active in the kitchen.

Not making any promises this time around regarding my posting frequency, but I do hope to be around these parts more regularly! And if you’re reading this, know that I would love to hear about what you’re making, too!

Without further ado, here’s what I’ve been making over the first week of 2017:

This was really easy, yummy, and filling. I didn’t toast the sesame seeds and I had to sub some shallot for scallion but I bet it would be even better if you followed those instructions.

Best tofu I have ever had, by far, and very easy to make. I ate a few pieces like chips as I was taking it out of the oven. Amazing as written but next time I’ll play around with some seasoning. I did not flip halfway through and it was fine. I had to use my fingers to peel the pieces off the foil, but that was fairly easy.

I roasted some extra veggies when making the salmon, and then put the veggies and tofu on a bed of spring mix with oil and vinegar for lunches. Awesome.

The “white girl”descriptor comes from me, because the spices are not quite right for this to be chicken tikka, at least with the brand of garam masala I have, but it’s still good.

I’ve made this twice in my blog absence. The first time I made it as written but used only 14.5 oz tomatoes instead of 28 oz as per suggestions in some of the comments. Very glad I did this because it would’ve been way too soupy otherwise.

The second time, I made a few other tweaks in addition to the reduced tomatoes:

–I forgot to buy onions so I skipped that and sprinkled a little onion powder instead.
–I also added some cayenne, turmeric, and red pepper flakes. This gave the dish more depth and heat but it still isn’t a dish that fits its original name.
–I added 1 cup of frozen peas and a drained/rinsed can of chickpeas at the same time as the cream/coconut milk to stretch the meal out a few more servings.

  • Frittata

I love frittatas and quiches because they’re so easy to customize with whatever veggies, cheese, and seasoning you have. I looked at a few recipes and combined a few to come up with my own, which was roughly:

–6 eggs, lightly beaten with about 1/2 cup almond milk
–2 cups frozen peppers and onions, thawed and patted dry
–1.5 cups shredded cheddar (I like cheese!)
–Salt, pepper, smoked paprika, and red pepper flakes to taste

Pour into greased 9″ pie pan and bake at 400 until set- I think it was somewhere around 35-40 mins for me. Add a few slices of avocado on top!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

