Happy April!

Popping in to share a few things I’ve tried recently, and also give an app suggestion.

Cheddar brat meatballs with 3 dipping sauces

I made this for the first time when a few friends came over (always a risk), and was pretty happy with the results. I wasn’t totally wowed by the dipping sauces, but the meatballs were solid. I can also never seem to make cheese-filled meatballs in a way that does not result in 80% of the cheese oozing out onto the pan, but I think that’s a personal problem.

Bacon-wrapped almond-stuffed dates

Also made for said friends. We went to town on these. I would absolutely make these again for a party or to bring to a potluck since they’re still delicious once cooled. Could not be easier, with an added bonus of minimal bacon grease clean-up!

Thai chicken peanut lettuce tacos

This was awesome! I’m not a huge fan of lettuce wraps so I just served this over a salad instead (Mike used tortillas). I would double the sauce next time (and there will be many next times for me!)

Crockpot chicken wild rice soup

I know we’re getting out of hearty soup season, so make it now! This was delicious and made a ton.

Roasted veggie enchilada casserole

This was decent but didn’t totally wow me.

Soft & thick snickerdoodles

I’ve made these 3 or 4 times for various events and they always turn out perfect. They are dangerous!

App suggestion: Paprika recipe manager

This is one of the best things that has ever happened to me in the kitchen. That’s not an exaggeration! I’ve always struggled to figure out the best way to collect new recipes and keep old ones. Pinterest always involved too many steps, and when I pulled up recipes in a browser it often seemed to crash or I would accidentally navigate off the page.

While these apps cost a few dollars per platform, it has been well-worth. I bought it for my phone and iPad, and use the free browser extension on my computer. I can look for recipes on any of my devices, and when I find a recipe I like, I only have to press one button to import it into the app. I can then add as many custom tags as I want to the recipe so that they’re well-organized (e.g., Mexican, chicken, side dishes, etc.)

As an added bonus, I can add these recipes to a grocery list (also within the app), add anything else I need that isn’t recipe specific, and then head to the grocery store with my phone.  When I’m cooking, I open the recipe in the app on my iPad and prop it up on an IKEA stand. After we eat, I can rate the recipe out of 5 stars.

Highly recommend!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

